Skip to main content
ElevenLabs Documentation Docs

Search documentation

Type to search this documentation.

On this pageOverview

Retention

Retention settings allow you to configure how long your conversational agent stores conversation transcripts and audio recordings. These settings help you comply with data privacy regulations.

By default, ElevenLabs retains conversation data for 2 years. You can modify this period to:

  • Any number of days (e.g., 30, 90, 365)
  • Unlimited retention by setting the value to -1
  • Scheduled deletion by setting the value to 0

The retention settings apply separately to:

  • Conversation transcripts: Text records of all interactions
  • Audio recordings: Voice recordings from both the user and agent

Navigate to your agent's settings and select the "Advanced" tab. The retention settings are located in the "Data Retention" section.

Enable overrides
  1. Enter the desired retention period in days
  2. Choose whether to apply changes to existing data
  3. Click "Save" to confirm changes
Enable overrides

When modifying retention settings, you'll have the option to apply the new retention period to existing conversation data or only to new conversations going forward.

Bash
elevenlabs agents pull --agent "<agent-name>"

Set platform_settings.privacy.retention_days:

JSON
{
  "platform_settings": {
    "privacy": {
      "retention_days": 30
    }
  }
}
Bash
elevenlabs agents push --agent "<agent-name>"
Python
from elevenlabs import ElevenLabs

elevenlabs = ElevenLabs()

elevenlabs.conversational_ai.agents.update(
    agent_id="agent_7101k5zvyjhmfg983brhmhkd98n6",
    platform_settings={
        "privacy": {"retention_days": 30},
    },
)
TypeScript
import { ElevenLabsClient } from "@elevenlabs/elevenlabs-js";

const elevenlabs = new ElevenLabsClient();

await elevenlabs.conversationalAi.agents.update("agent_7101k5zvyjhmfg983brhmhkd98n6", {
  platformSettings: {
    privacy: { retentionDays: 30 },
  },
});
Suggest an edit

Propose a replacement for this page. The site team reviews it before applying any changes.

Export
Documentation menu